Jump lesson recap + other stuff.

This post is going to be big and a random bunch of stuff, but please bare with me. First off, lesson yesterday! My coach started off by setting up a zigzag bounce that looked like this;

img_0583
The black lines are jumps, and the green line is how you jump through it. (All bounces)

which we trotted through with the poles on the ground. We cantered through, Then coach put two of them up into jumps. Once we’d done that we repeated in the other way, then coach put the remaining two poles up into jumps and we cantered through.

 

Annddd… I made a bit of a mess of it. But we went through again and it was good. And we went through it the other direction as well.

 

We’d been doing this bounce, then around to another bounce besides the barrel jump. We switched things up through so that instead of the second bounce we would do the Barrel/Tarp jump. Ollie didn’t realize that, he still thought we were jumping the bounce (my fault.) so when he say the tarp he just stopped. Also, tarps are the one thing that Ollie seems to be scared of.

A1608456-393C-471A-AA15-9487336D4A93
Ollie- “whaaaaa-”
C065B0E6-821C-4689-90E8-F5BDD5A643CF
Ollie- “oh, ok.”

once the “drama” had been resolved, we jumped it off of left rein.

2F9C15A1-DF99-4759-A404-45E8F51E3640
Ollie- “still not sure bout this thing…”
8C2F5D29-2BF8-4BAB-B14A-54D045B1B2C7
Ollie- “Hmm… I’ll keep my eye on it.”

then it turned into a little course; yellow upright, stone wall, bounce, yellow upright going the other way, barrels, FORGET COURSE! (But It should have been triple combination, into the indoor and out over the blue polka dot to red upright line.)

 

Coach raised the two line sides, the stone wall, and the second two jumps in the triple combination up to (😳) three foot. (coach also laughed and said that Entry would now look easy. Not sure that will happen but what ever lol) and after a walk break we went and did that.

 

Weee!!!🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳 can I say how much I love my pony?!? Bc I don’t think I say it enough! He was totally opening up his stride and giving me his all! And the striding was actually tight for him on the last line. (Hence the rail) which is a new thing for us! Hehe. (Can u tell how pleased I am that I’ve now survived TWO courses at 3’?)

D6A08614-CAC1-4A19-9FAF-2636B61BAF8A
Should I be apologizing for the very large amount of media in this post? Probably. #notsorry

on to the next order of business, Lilliput! She’s been doing great in her ground driving! And I finely got new tires for her buggy…. can you see where this is going?

2CFEED28-B8C2-4F8C-8612-9156D641BEF1.jpeg
The princess also got shaved about a week or so ago. It’s definitely easier to brush her;) and I think she likes not being so hot.

I’ve had her pull her buggy a couple times recently, either with me leading by her head, or standing behind the buggy and walking along with the reins to give her an idea of leading by herself. (not sure if that’s the right way to train or not… maybe don’t do it? Worked for me though.) so today when I took her over to my coach’s arena, and she was being SO GOOD! I just couldn’t resist hopping in. I only went around once, I didn’t want to over do anything:) but I did get to ride down coach’s driveway and then up mine.

336AE181-09C4-4B0F-AB53-26FDECDDAF1A
SO FUN!

(sorry, Video is sideways.)

 

I’m veerrrryyy tempted to put more photos, but I’m trying to tell myself that I’ve already posted so many.

also, I’ve now got an Instagram! although I have no idea how to use it… so please go check it out at Poniesandpotter! And questions for anyone who have a blog and Instagram, how to you get your Instagram feed to show at the bottom of your blog? Right now I’m thinking It’s wizardry. (Hey! Maybe I should just send a letter to Dumbledore and ask him.)

33AFE5C6-A762-43F6-9E3A-7CC6B711882C.jpeg
Ha! We all knew I’d sneak one more picture in here somewhere.

6 thoughts on “Jump lesson recap + other stuff.”

  1. Yay Instagram page! And a great lesson!

    To get your instagram feed to show up on your blog page, you can’t use the free or personal version of wordpress.com. You either need to launch your own website, or pay for the business plan in order to install the plugin you need.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great lesson!!! How do you like the indoor connected to the outdoor? We are looking into taking some of our outdoor away and enclosing it so it would function sorta like that one but I’ve never seen it before. Likes? Dislikes?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the indoor-outdoor combination! Normally I either use just the indoor, or just the outdoor. (Both of them are full sized) Only using both if I’m practicing galloping or jumping lines that are to long for the outdoor 😁 I know a different coach in my area has a half outdoor with a cover over the other half. I think it works good for her. My dislikes would probably be Going back and forth from Sun-Shade-sun-shade etc etc because it’s harder for my eyes to adjust. I suppose it’s good practice for at a show if it’s sun/shade though. Likes, it’s super handy! Hope this helped 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment